Coober Pedy News
       No. 1                                                             20 March 2002

Archived copy


New Power Station Manager Appointed

Ending the months long search to replace the Power Station Manager, after accepting the resignation of Mr Neville Mitchell, the District Council of Coober Pedy has appointed a Mr Brian Mooney.

Mr Mooney said at the adjourned council meeting this week he was confident he could handle the job, and that good working relationships with staff at the power station were already being established.

Since the resignation of Mr Mitchell, power station operation has fallen on the shoulders of Mr David Young.

Mr Young, in charge of diesel engine generation, and Distribution Supervisor Mr Bill McIntosh, have done for months what they usually only have to do for a couple of weeks while a manager is on holidays.




               The Wartsila Nohab 8V25 1.3 Megawatt gen set                                                Mr David Young at a dipstick of the Rustin 16RKC3 gen set

The 1970's 2Mw Rustin will be replaced with a Granites 2Mw Wartsila gen set that cost $12,000 to be offloaded in Coober Pedy.

Right: The 660Kw GM16V149 which will be replaced with a 1.0 Mw Granites Wartsila

Left: Installation of the 1.0 Mw Granites Cummins KTA50G3. 

In the middle background is the 450Kw Caterpillar D398 which will also be replaced with a 1.0 Mw Granites Wartsila.

Diesel fuel consumption in any day can range from 7,000 to 15,000 litres. The station takes delivery of, on average, one triple road train of diesel per week.






Mobile Home Gospel Singers

The Spoor family have left for about seven months to travel outback Australia.

In the meantime the Coober Pedy Assembly of God Family Church will be led by Pastor John Day, formerly of Murray Bridge.

Travelling with the Spoors is Shannon Blatchford.

Rear: Robyn, Jessica, Tim and baby Elen, Joel, Shannon. Front: Bethany, Sam , Celeste

Club AGM Elections


President: Tresia Lenthall; Secretary: Colleen Weaver; PR: Dave Mills; Complaints Officers: Robin Hutchins and Brenton Ellis; Treasurer: Ann Hammer; Competition night: Monday; Venue: Alternating IAMC and RSL; Starting Time: 7.30pm; Teams and Captains: Opal Inn Chalkies - Robert Hanley;                    The Two Digits - Ann Hammer; The IAMC Rebels - Dave Shelton; The Wanderers - Robin Hutchins; The 8-Mile Cruisers - Charlie Marron;                Detonators - Colleen Weaver; Jetz - Jayne Karam.


President: Mick Cox; Vice President: Peter Bradley; Secretary: Mardi Larsden; Treasurer: Jill Trembath; Committee: Gwenda Forman, Ann Hammer, Donna Trembath, Bruce Johnson, Dave Matters, Tim Nagy, Matthew Verstappen.


Left: Mick Cox and "Snowy"


Councillor Isvari Luff has resigned for family reasons and will be moving to Alice Springs to live.


The elderly Andamooka and Coober Pedy Opal Fields identity know to most as "Stolla" died last week.


Paving bricks now stretch from where the new bank is to where the old bank was.

The Mayor's Report, 20 March 2002

At no stage will the District Council of Coober Pedy run out of funds. Approximately 12 months ago Council purchased and re-located five second hand engines, for the Power House, from The Granites Mines in the Northern Territory at a cost of $850,000. The market value for these engines is about $6,500,000. Because of this huge outlay of funds we have asked our Managers to cut back on their expenditure until we build up our cash flow again.

Our council always has $200,000 to $300,000 held in reserve with the Local Government Finance Authority.

Our new administrator Ian Quartermain runs a very tight ship. That is why the rumours have gone around town that Council is short of funds.

In my position as Mayor of Coober Pedy I wish to thank my Chief Executive Officer, and Senior Staff who have always had their finger on the pulse.

Eric Malliotis, JP